Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Natural Household Cleaners (better for immune system)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Natural Household Cleaners (better for immune system)

I don't know if anyone knows about how typical chemical household cleaners can hinder the immune system. I am not an expert but that is my understanding from what I have read.

It seems logical to me that if we want to avoid getting the avian flu or any other illness one important factor is to boost our immune system.

I feel this can be done in two areas in our personal lives.
    1) reduce exposure to chemical cleansers which can hinder our body's immune system (or other body systems);
    2) change our nutrition to boost our body's immune system (I will post on that topic separately).

For a year I have been using homemade natural household cleansers. Books with recipes usually have chapters on the problems with using common household cleansers and their negative health impact.

I remember when I was working at an immediate medical care facility and two workers came in very sick from having breathed in a floor cleaning product, when they opened the door to the janitor's closet. They ended up very sick with chemical pneumonia and had to be hospitalized in the long run. The doctors had to use a reference book to look up the product they had inhaled to learn about that product and to see what the ingredients were. Afterward, I looked at the book, and was shocked to learn that common items sold in grocery stores are actually considered toxic. For example one very popular surface spray product which made me cough and has given me a sore throat when I spray it and breathe it in, was listed as a toxin that should never be breathed in. I was surprised as it is near impossible to use the product without a mask on and not inhale it! Who knew that this common product was toxic? How could it be so popular yet be toxic?