Improvising PPE

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Improvising PPE

I found this article interesting. I may not be the only one who has to improvise due to a tight budget. Maybe those on the board with more expertise may be willing to discuss the pros and cons of the ideas put forth in this articles or add some of their own? - AC

Improvising PPE
    by Louie in Ohio

This article is mainly about improvising Personal Protective Equipment (PPE).
    I have been employed for over 36 years by an international coatings company. I have held several positions in different areas of our plant, including production, maintenance, and raw materials. I also have 35+ years in the field of Industrial Emergency Response. The last few years I have been an instructor for our Emergency Response Team (ERT). Some of the topics we deal with are firefighting, Haz-mat, Medical response, and rescue.

Participating with the Team has been both educational and enjoyable as we develop a closeness and brotherhood (and recently sisterhood).
    I have been able to use some of these skills and talents in my everyday life, as well as in other interests that I have.
    I was reviewing some information a few days ago for a presentation coming up in the Haz-mat area. Haz-mat basically means hazardous materials. The facility where I work uses approximately 250 different chemical compounds. My present position allows me to have direct contact with most of these either by sampling for analyst, or verification.
    The information I was reviewing was decontamination during and/or after an emergency exposure.

It dawned on me that many people of the prepper mindset might find it useful as it closely resembles the decontamination ("decon") of bio, chemical, and radioactive fallout exposures.