No announcement yet.

List of Members of the IHR (2005) Emergency Committee concerning Novel Coronavirus (nCoV) (WHO, July 9 2013)

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • List of Members of the IHR (2005) Emergency Committee concerning Novel Coronavirus (nCoV) (WHO, July 9 2013)

    [Source: World Health Organization, full page: (LINK). Edited.]

    List of Members of the International Health Regulations (2005) Emergency Committee concerning Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV)

    • Professor Tjandra Aditama
      • Director General, Disease Control and Environmental Health, Ministry of Health, Jakarta, Indonesia
    • Dr Salah T. Al Awaidy
      • Communicable Diseases Advisor to Health Affairs, Ministry of Health, Muscat, Oman
    • Professor Chris Baggoley
      • Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health and Ageing, Canberra, Australia
    • Dr Martin Cetron
      • Director, Division of Global Migration and Quarantine, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, United States of America
    • Professor Claudia Gonzalez
      • Psychologist and Researcher, Center of Epidemiology and Public Health Policy, Faculty of Medicine, Cl?nica Alemana-Universidad del Desarrollo, and Partner-Director Epi-Sur Consultores, Santiago de Chile, Chile.
    • Dr Paata Imnadze
      • Head of Scientific Board, National Center for Disease Control and Public Health, Tbilisi, Georgia
    • Dr Fadzilah Kamaludin
      • Head, Office of Deputy Director General of Health (Public Health), and Director, Epidemic Intelligence Program (Field Epidemiology Training Program), Ministry of Health, Putrajaya, Malaysia
    • Dr Bj?rn-Inge Larsen
      • Secretary General, Ministry of Health and Care Services, Oslo, Norway
    • Dr Ziad Memish
      • Deputy Minister for Public Health, Riyadh, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
    • Professor Babacar Ndoye
      • Expert-consultant and trainer in hospital hygiene, infection control and patient safety, Dakar, Senegal
    • Professor Mahmudur Rahman
      • Director, Institute of Epidemiology, Disease Control and Research and National Influenza Centre, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Dhaka, Bangladesh
    • Professor Maha Talaat
      • Director, Infection Control Unit and Deputy Director, Disease Prevention, Global Disease Detection and Response Center, United States Naval Medical Research Unit, No.3, Cairo, Egypt
    • Dr Theresa Tam
      • Branch Head, Health Security Infrastructure Branch, Public Health Agency of Canada, Ottawa, Canada.
    • Professor Oyewale Tomori
      • Redeemer?s University, Redemption City, Lagos, Nigeria
    • Professor Maria Zambon
      • Director, Reference Microbiology Services, Public Health England, London, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

    Declaration of Interests ? Members
      • Professor Babacar Ndoye
        • Professor Ndoye recently retired and is in the process of setting up a training programme in Senegal in the areas of hygiene and infection control, to be hosted by an institute of higher learning. This programme involves no financial investment on his part or any relationship with industry.
      • Professor Maria Zambon
        • Professor Maria Zambon is the Director of Reference Microbiology Services at Public Health England (PHE), an Executive Agency of the UK Department of Health (previously known as the Health Protection Agency (HPA)). Professor Zambon has worked for a UK government agency since 1994. In this role and all previous roles for UK government agencies, it is necessary to liaise with industry on a range of topics, including vaccines and antivirals, occasionally involving collaborative research and development agreements (CRADA) which fund laboratory staff and consumables. There has been no personal funding to Professor Zambon. Previously (up to 2009), the HPA received significant funding through CRADAs with vaccine manufacturers, including Sanofi, Novartis, CSL, Baxter and GSK. Roche currently provides funding through CRADA for development of analytical methods to detect the emergence of antiviral resistance. In 2012, Professor Zambon received a bursary for airfare and accommodation from the American Society of Microbiology for the Interscience Conference on Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy to deliver a keynote address.
    • The interests summarized above do not give rise to a conflict of interest such that the experts concerned should be partially or totally excluded from participation in the Emergency Committee. However, following WHO's policy, they are disclosed within the Committee so that other members were aware of them. All other Members of the Emergency Committee declared no relevant interests.
    • Many of the Emergency Committee Members have extensive governmental experience and expertise ? and consulting with WHO ? in the areas that are the subject of the Emergency Committee proceedings, which were considered very relevant and important for the challenging tasks faced by the Committee.