Blog on being the first case of swineflu in the United Arab Emirates

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blog on being the first case of swineflu in the United Arab Emirates

Syed Shah on being the first case of influenza A/H1N1 in the United Arab Emirates

20 Aug, 09 | by julietwalker

I had the honor of being the first case reported officially from the United Arab Emirates (UAE). It was 3 am on Sunday, 17th May when I arrived at Dubai Airport, via Calgary and Heathrow, after spending a week with my family in Saskatoon, Canada.

Later that day I returned to my department at the university where several colleagues passed by my office to welcome me back. That night l developed a sore throat, high fever, and cough. At 8 am the following day, feeling lethargic and generally unwell and fearing the worst, I went to the emergency department of our local hospital and presented myself to the on-duty infectious diseases consultant.

As a public health physician, I had taken stock of the situation before my travel to Canada on 8th May. At that time, the World Health Organization was not recommending restrictions on travel, although some individual national authorities were advising against non-essential travel. The advice on the various websites seemed very pragmatic: observe basic hygiene, hand-washing and cough etiquette; do not travel when ill and seek medical advice if becoming ill after returning.

My route took me through London (34 cases reported in the UK at that time) and Toronto (61 cases in Ontario) to Saskatoon (2 cases). By the time I was due to return to UAE via Calgary, cases in Canada had increased from 242 to 496 with 19 in Saskatchewan and 67 in Alberta. During my stay in Saskatoon I had not encountered anyone with respiratory symptoms and I was quite well as I set out on my journey home.